The Passano Foundation, Inc.



The Directors of The Passano Foundation are seeking nominations for the 2020 Passano Award.  For your convenience, the nomination form is attached in the button above.  Nominations are invited throughout the year with selections being made in December.  In an effort to reduce the use of paper, nominations will only be accepted via email in a single PDF file.  Please submit your nomination to

The Passano Award and honorarium will be given to an established investigator in recognition of his or her research which leads to clinical medical applications.  The award will be presented at a special dinner in Baltimore in the spring of 2020. We realize that thoughtful nominations for these awards are time consuming.  The Directors of the Foundation are particularly grateful to you for taking the time to bring outstanding men and women of science to our attention and we look forward to receiving your nomination.

recipients of the passano laureate and physician scientist awards

2019 Laureates

Robert Fettiplace, Ph.D. and James Hudspeth, M.D., Ph.D.

Physician Scientists

Rekha R. Rapaka, M.D., Ph.D.

Cesar Santa-Maria, M.D.

2018 Laureates

Carl June, M.D. and Michel Sadelain, M.D., Ph.D.

Physician Scientists

Laura Christine Cappelli, M.D., MHS, MS

Cheng-Ying Ho, M.D., Ph.D.


2017 Laureates

Dr. Yuan Chang and Dr. Patrick S. Moore

Physician Scientists

Ryan Felling, M.D., Ph.D.

Mark Travassos, M.D.


2016 Laureates

Helen H. Hobbs, M.D. and Jonathan Cohen, Ph.D. 

Physician Scientists

Kaisorn Chaichana, M.D.  

Nancy Li Schoenborn, M.D.

Andrea Berry, M.D.


2015 Laureate

James P. Allison, Ph.D. 

Physician Scientists

Channing Paller M.D.  

Simon Best, M.D.  

David J. Riedel, M.D., M.P.H.


2014 Laureate

Jeffrey I. Gordon, M.D. 

Physician Scientists

Janet L. Crane, M.D.

Gabriel Ghiaur, M.D., Ph.D.        

Mohammad Sajadi, M.D.


2013 Laureate

Rudolf Jaenisch, Ph.D.

Physician Scientists

Jennifer Mammen, M.D., Ph.D.  

Janis Taube, M.D., MSc.        

Graeme F. Woodworth, M.D.


2012 Laureate

Eric N. Olson Ph.D.

Physician Scientists

Irina Burd, M.D., Ph.D.  

Jonathon M. Gerber, M.D  

Kevin N. Sheth, M.D.  


2011 Laureate

Elaine Fuchs, Ph.D.   

Physician Scientists

Gloria Reeves, M.D.  

Adam Hartman, M.D., FAAP  

Aravindan Kolandaivelu, M.D.  


2010 Laureate

David Julius, Ph.D.

Physician Scientists

Marlis Gonzalez-Fernandez, M.D., Ph.D.  

Nilofer Azad, M.D.  

Afshin Parsa, M.D., M.P.H


2009 Laureate

Irving L. Weissman, M.D. 

Physician scientists

Mahendra Damarla, M.D.  

Jason Farrar, M.D.  

Ikwunga Wonodi, M.B.B.S


2008 Laureate

Thomas C. Südhof, M.D. 

Physician scientists

Thomas E. Lloyd, M.D., Ph.D.

Edward Schaefer, M.D., Ph.D.

Wilbur H. Chen, M.D.  


2007 Laureate

Joan Massagué, Ph.D. 

Physician scientists

Rachel Damico, M.D., Ph.D.  

Andrew Mammen, M.D., Ph.D.

Susanna Scafidi, M.D.


2006 Laureate

Napoleone Ferrara, M.D. 

Physician scientists

Frances L. Johnson, M.D.  

Brett Morrison, M.D., Ph.D.  

Alfredo Quiñones-Hinojosa, M.D.  


2005 Laureate

Jeffrey M. Friedman, M.D. Ph.D.   

Physician Scientists

Bradley J. Goldstein, M.D., Ph.D.  

David J. Kouba, M.D., Ph.D.  

Wells A. Messersmith, M.D.  

Jennifer L. Payne, M.D.  

Sangeeta D. Sule, M.D., Ph.D.  


2003 Laureate

Andrew Z. Fire, Ph.D.  


2003-2004 Passano Physician Scientists

Francesco Saverio Celi, M.D.  

Joseph Mark Savitt, M.D., Ph.D.  

Tao Wang, Ph.D.


2002 Laureate

Alexander Rich, M.D.


2001 Laureate

Seymour Benzer, Ph.D.


2000 Laureate

Giuseppe Attardi, M.D. & Douglas C. Wallace, Ph.D.


1999 Laureate

Elizabeth H. Blackburn, Ph.D. & Carol W. Greider, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Molecular  


1998 Laureate

H. Robert Horvitz, M.D., Ph.D.   


1997 Laureate

James E. Darnell, Jr., M.D.  


1996 Laureate

Leland H. Hartwell, M.D.


1995 Laureate

Robert G. Roeder, Ph.D.  & Robert Tijan, Ph.D.  


1994 Laureate

Bert Vogelstein, M.D.


1993 Laureate

Jack L. Strominger, M.D.  &  Don C. Wiley, Ph.D.  


1992 Laureate

Charles Yanofsky, Ph.D. 

Young Scientist Award

Tom Curran, Ph.D.  


1991 Laureate

William S. Sly, M.D.  & Stuart Kornfeld, M.D. 

Young Scientist Award

Roger Tsien, Ph.D.  



Young Scientist Award

Matthew P. Scott, Ph.D.


1989 Laureate

Victor A. McKusick, M.D.   

Young Scientist Award  

Louis M. Kunkel, Ph.D.  


1988   Laureate

Edwin G. Krebs, M.D. & Edmond H. Fischer, Ph.D.

Young Scientist Award  

Peter Walter, Ph.D. 


1987  Laureate

Irwin Fridovich, Ph.D.  

Young Scientist Award  

Jeremy Nathans, Ph.D. 


1986   Laureate

Albert Lester Lehninger, Ph.D.  & Eugene Patrick Kennedy, Ph.D.  


1985   Laureate

Howard Green, M.D.

Young Scientist Award  

Mark M. Davis, Ph.D. 

James Edward Rothman, Ph.D.


1984   Laureate 

Peter C. Nowell, M.D. 

Young Scientist Award  

Thomas R. Cech, Ph.D.


1983   Laureate

J. Michael Bishop, M.D.  & Harold E. Varmus, M.D

Young Scientist Award  

Gerald M. Rubin, Ph.D.  & Allan C. Spradling, Ph.D. 


1982   Laureate

Roscoe O. Brady, M.D. &  Elizabeth F. Neufeld, Ph.D.

Young Scientist Award  

Roger D. Kornberg, Ph.D. 


1981   Laureate

Hugh O. McDevitt, M.D. 

Young Scientist Award  

William A. Catterall, Ph.D.  

Joel Moss, M.D., Ph.D.


1980   Laureate

Seymour Solomon Kety, M.D.    


1979   Laureate

Donald F. Steiner, M.D.   

Young Scientist Award  

Richard Axel, M.D.


1978   Laureate

Michael S. Brown, M.D. & Joseph L. Goldstein, M.D.

Young Scientist Award  

Robert J. Lefkowitz, M.D. 


1977   Laureate

Curt P. Richter, Ph.D.   

Young Scientist Award  

Eric A. Jaffe, M.D.  


1976   Laureate

Roger Guillemin, M.D., Ph.D.  

Young Scientist Award  

Ralph A. Bradshaw, Ph.D.  


1975   Laureate

Henry G. Kunkel, M.D.  

Young Scientist Award  

Joan Argetsinger Steitz, Ph.D.


1974   Laureate

Seymour S. Cohen, Ph.D. &  Baruch S. Blumberg, M.D., Ph.D.


1973   Laureate

Roger W. Sperry, Ph.D.  


1972   Laureate

Kimishige Ishizaka, M.D. &  Teruko Ishizaka, M.D.,    


1971   Laureate

Stephen W. Kuffler, M.D. 


1970  Laureate

Paul Charles Zamecnik, M.D.


1969   Laureate

George Herbert Hitchings, Ph.D.


1968   Laureate

John Eager Howard, M.D.


1967   Laureate

Irvine H. Page, M.D.


1966   Laureate

John T. Edsall, M.D.


1965 Laureate

Charles B. Huggins, M.D. 


1964   Laureate

Keith R. Porter, Ph.D. & George E. Palade, M.D.    


1963   Laureate

Horace W. Magoun, Ph.D., D.Sc.


1962   Laureate

Albert H. Coons, M.D.



Owen H. Wangensteen, M.D.    



Rene J. Dubos, Ph.D.   



Stanhope Bayne-Jones, M.D., Sc.D.  



George Washington Corner, M.D., D.Sc. 



Williams Mansfield Clark, Ph.D., Sc.D.